is Egyptian

living in Cairo. She spends weekends in Alexandria. She's pursuing a master's degree in Islamic Art. She wears jeans to work, a bikini to the beach and plays the guitar. She lives in her parents' home. She is a Coptic Christian.
 is Jordanian

living in Amman with her mother and two brothers. She teaches Arabic. As a visiting instructor of Arabic in the United States, one of her most treasured memories is singing in the Earlham College gospel choir. She is a devout Muslim.
 is Iranian

living in Tehran. She is a freshman student at Tehran University and works at her father's bookstore. Her journal is a poetic musing on her love of Classical Persian painting, a fascination with America and shopping for anything in pink. She dropped the project after four months. She is a Muslim.
 is Palestinian

living in Bethlehem. She is a primary and secondary school teacher. Her entries focus on the humiliation of Israeli checkpoints and the challenge of maintaining a relationship with her now inaccessible boyfriend. While living at home, she tries to avoid her mother's attempts to arrange a marriage to one of a succession of eligible local men. She is a devout Catholic.
 is American

living in Vermont. She is the oldest of the group and the artist for the project. She is single and struggling with the sale of a cherished home and the renovation of another while pursuing a Masters degree in art. She's in love with old movies and haunted by the memories of her mother. She is an Agnostic.

bullet Home
bullet About the Project
bullet About the Artist
bullet About the Women
bullet Diaries
bullet Months
bullet Links
bullet Acknowledgements
bullet Contact